Meet the candidates

Nominations for candidates in the coming federal election have now closed and candidates for the seat of New England include newcomer Independent Rob Taber, owner of New England Solar Power, who said that there is a lot of support of Independents in the coming election.

National’s Barnaby Joyce will be included on the ballot paper along with Glen Innes local Independent Jamie McIntyre who has promised, if elected, the immediate implementation of a “private sector mentality” to government. Mr McIntyre is also demanding an investigation into Australian Electoral Commission corruption following his 21st Australia Party failing to make the ballot paper due to a lacking member roll. 

Labor’s Stephen Hewitt, Green’s Pat Schultz and Richard Witten of the Citizen’s Electoral Council have also nominated along with Palmer United Party’s Phillip Girle and One Nation’s Brian Dettmann, who has promised, among other policies, the abolishment of the carbon tax imposed by previous Labor and Liberal parties. 

Mr Dettmann said that the implementation of One Nation tax reforms “would leave more individuals and families with more of their income in their own pockets to meet living needs and reduce oppressive regulation on small business and industries.”

Mr Dettmann has also promised the implementation of more infrastructure projects — specifically with regard to water catchment, storage and distribution — and the development of sustainable fuels including bio-fuels.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide